In many cases, the possession of marijuana in the state of New York is an unclassified offense or small misdemeanor. Individuals who are found with 25 grams or less are fined a maximum $100 for a first offense, a charge that is doubled if the culprit is caught a second time with a similar amount. A third offense with 25 grams or less can land an individual in prison for as many as 15 days and can carry a $250 fine. Any person in New York state found to be in possession of more than 25 grams but less than eight ounces will be charged with a misdemeanor and could face anywhere from three months to two years of jail time.
Individuals in possession of more than eight ounces will be charged with felony drug possession and can expect much harsher penalties, capping off at 15 years of incarceration. Individuals caught selling or trafficking marijuana will also be charged with heavier fines, up to $15,000 and as many as 25 years in prison.